Book Recs: It’s About the Yearning

I had absolutely no idea what rec list to make for today so, in a sort of democracy I suppose, I got people on twitter to choose between this, butch lesbians and yes this book is gay. (Don’t worry, the latter two will be coming, although maybe not so soon.)

We all know that yearning is a massive part of the best LGBT lit, at what we all yearn (lol) for. So, here are ten of my favourites that just hit that sweet spot.

Yes, there are some upcoming books on this list, I can’t be held accountable for it though.

Continue reading “Book Recs: It’s About the Yearning”

Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (II)

It’s been a good few months since I did a post like this, and since I hit…uh…500 books so far this year, I figure I’ve read enough more books to do a second post. So, here we are! Once again, there is a wide range of books on this post, so hopefully you find something you’ll enjoy.

If you want to know what I recced in the first post, take a peek here.

And, once again, the books on this list, where possible, are not ones that only have fewer than 400* ratings by dint of being published recently (i.e. within the last month, I figure).

*Although by some strange coincidence, none of these actually have over 204 ratings…

Continue reading “Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (II)”

ARC Review + Author Interview: Z Jeffries

It’s two posts for the price of one on Reads Rainbow today as we are bringing you both an ARC review and an author interview. Chase: The Boy Who Hid is a middle grade science fiction novel, out in just a few days, and we had the pleasure of talking to the author, Z Jeffries, about it (among other things).

So, this post starts with five reasons you should read this book, and follows on with the interview. Enjoy!

Don’t forget, you can also follow Z Jeffries on twitter.

40864832

Don’t hide from your feelings. Hide from the giant robot trying to kill you.

I always knew I’d inherited my grandad’s mind for science and technology, but when he goes missing, I get his spot in a top-secret government game of hide and seek. The military camouflage challenge, DARPA’s game where shapeshifters, mechs, and telepaths hide from a robot seeker, is also where Grandad vanished.

To find out what happened, I’ll play along- gain the team’s trust, master the tech, and avoid catching feelings for the team navigator. If I can do all that, then maybe I can survive the dangerous game. But if it comes down to winning or finding Grandad, I’ll ditch the game and betray my team in a millisecond. Even if it means I go missing, too.

Book One in the Hide & Seek Series, the action-packed coming of age stories of STEM-minded queer kids getting their hands on the tech of the future.

inbtwn

Chase: The Boy Who Hid

Z Jeffries

Published: 15th October 2020
Goodreads
Rep: bi mc, nonbinary character, Black lesbian character

Continue reading “ARC Review + Author Interview: Z Jeffries”

ARC Review: Crownchasers

49245102

A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy. Her mother sacrificed everything to bring peace to the quadrant, and her uncle has successfully ruled as emperor for decades. But the last thing Alyssa wants is to follow in their footsteps as the next in line for the throne. Why would she choose to be trapped in a palace when she could be having wild adventures exploring a thousand-and-one planets in her own ship?

But when Alyssa’s uncle becomes gravely ill, his dying wish surprises the entire galaxy. Instead of naming her as his successor, he calls for a crownchase, the first in seven centuries. Representatives from each of the empire’s prime families—including Alyssa—are thrown into a race to find the royal seal, which has been hidden somewhere in the empire. The first to find the seal wins the throne.

Alyssa’s experience as an explorer makes her the favorite to win the crown she never wanted. And though she doesn’t want to be empress, her duty to her uncle compels her to participate in this one last epic adventure. But when the chase turns deadly, it’s clear that more than just the fate of the empire is at stake. Alyssa is on her most important quest yet—and only time will tell if she’ll survive it.

inbtwn

Crownchasers

Rebecca Coffindaffer

Published: 29th September 2020
Goodreads
Rep: pan mc, lesbian, gay and nonbinary side characters
CWs: alcohol use, blood, gore, death of a loved one, emotional withholding from a parental figure, murder, guilt and trauma, science fiction-related violence

Continue reading “ARC Review: Crownchasers”

Book Reviews: Backlist Releases You May Have Missed

Something a bit different for you today, with a series of reviews of books that have been published recently (and a little less recently) that you might have missed out on. A little disclaimer first up, though: copies of these books were kindly provided us by the authors, but these are my unbiased reviews.

So dive in! And I hope you find something here that interests you.

Continue reading “Book Reviews: Backlist Releases You May Have Missed”

Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (I)

A bit of a different post for you today in that it’s not really got a theme as such. Instead I went for books that I’d rec that have fewer than 400 ratings (criminally) on Goodreads (as voted for on twitter, actually).

There is a somewhat…eclectic mix here, for sure. But I hope it’s such that you will be able to find something you’re interested in, no matter what you’re looking for.

Oh, and I tried my best to include books that didn’t have so few ratings just because they had only recently been released.

So check it out!

Continue reading “Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (I)”

Book Club: March Read

For March’s read, you voted we pick sci-fi. So the chances of Anna not reading a third book club book in a row have immediately skyrocketed.

We ended up picking a very recent release from an author we have both liked the short stories of for March’s read. Hopefully, that means we’ll both read the book for the first time in about 3 months.

So take a look to see what we selected.

Continue reading “Book Club: March Read”

Book Recs: Tor Novellas

At the beginning of December, I decided (foolishly) to aim to have read 400 books in 2019 (being, at the time, only on about 325). I made it, exhaustedly sure, but I made it. And I did so by reading a lot of novellas on tor.com.

So, obviously, armed with that knowledge, I had to make a rec list. There are only my favourite 10 on here, but I also made a longer thread on twitter, with every single one I read over that time.

So enjoy!

Continue reading “Book Recs: Tor Novellas”

Book Releases: January 2020 (II)

Not that I completely forgot I had to do this post, but I maybe completely forgot I had to do this post. But no matter! I’m just in time.

The first part of January brought us an influx of amazing releases (check them out here), and the second part continues with that. I know I said that there were 45 books out this month, but I have since found several more and that number is closer to 70 now (and, of course, we missed the release date of a few, so get ready for a massive post at the end of the year again).

But anyway, take a peek at what’s in store!

And as ever, all our previous posts are here.

Continue reading “Book Releases: January 2020 (II)”