Book Releases: December 2020

Can you guys believe this hell year is almost over? Yeah, me neither! I have no idea when this happened and how the time works anymore. I sure am glad that 2020 is basically behind us, though. Hopefully next year will be better. Anyway! If you’re looking for last minute holiday gifts or simply something to read on a cozy winter afternoon, browse away! There are almost 50 LGBT books coming out in December 2020!

A reminder that a rainbow emoji indicates that the author is LGBT, but not necessarily that the specific rep in the book is ownvoices.

And if you need some more books, you can find all our previous releases posts here.

Continue reading “Book Releases: December 2020”

Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (II)

It’s been a good few months since I did a post like this, and since I hit…uh…500 books so far this year, I figure I’ve read enough more books to do a second post. So, here we are! Once again, there is a wide range of books on this post, so hopefully you find something you’ll enjoy.

If you want to know what I recced in the first post, take a peek here.

And, once again, the books on this list, where possible, are not ones that only have fewer than 400* ratings by dint of being published recently (i.e. within the last month, I figure).

*Although by some strange coincidence, none of these actually have over 204 ratings…

Continue reading “Book Recs: Books With Less Than 400 Goodreads Ratings (II)”

Book Releases: November 2020

We’ve reached the point in the year where the number of LGBT releases starts to drop off. But, happily, all that really means is that we’ve got 58 releases for you today (which is still the equivalent of almost two per day). 2020 has been so good to us (in terms of LGBT releases. Not much else, I’ll admit).

As ever, you can find all our previous releases posts here and the rainbow emoji indicates an author who id’s as LGBT.

Continue reading “Book Releases: November 2020”

Book of the Month: The Liar’s Guide to the Night Sky

It’s been a little while since we featured a sapphic book on our book of the month feature, but this month’s is just that! I (Charlotte) have read this book and adored it, so I can’t recommend highly enough that you preorder it. (You can also read some of the other works by this author in the meantime, which are also not straight so…)

But anyway, read on to find out more about this book!

Related: Don’t forget all releases can be found in our monthly lists here.
Continue reading “Book of the Month: The Liar’s Guide to the Night Sky”

Book Releases: October 2020

If you’re looking for something new to read this fall, you’re in luck. Actually, if you’re looking for something spooky, you’re also in luck – there are quite a few horrors and thrillers coming out in October. Among other kinds of books. Among almost 90 titles.

A little bit different than I usually do on my posts, but we decided with Charlotte that’s actually a more important piece of information. So. A rainbow emoji indicates that the author is LGBT, but not necessarily that the specific rep in the book is ownvoices.

And if you need some more books, you can find all our previous releases posts here.

Continue reading “Book Releases: October 2020”

ARC Review: Crownchasers

49245102

A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy. Her mother sacrificed everything to bring peace to the quadrant, and her uncle has successfully ruled as emperor for decades. But the last thing Alyssa wants is to follow in their footsteps as the next in line for the throne. Why would she choose to be trapped in a palace when she could be having wild adventures exploring a thousand-and-one planets in her own ship?

But when Alyssa’s uncle becomes gravely ill, his dying wish surprises the entire galaxy. Instead of naming her as his successor, he calls for a crownchase, the first in seven centuries. Representatives from each of the empire’s prime families—including Alyssa—are thrown into a race to find the royal seal, which has been hidden somewhere in the empire. The first to find the seal wins the throne.

Alyssa’s experience as an explorer makes her the favorite to win the crown she never wanted. And though she doesn’t want to be empress, her duty to her uncle compels her to participate in this one last epic adventure. But when the chase turns deadly, it’s clear that more than just the fate of the empire is at stake. Alyssa is on her most important quest yet—and only time will tell if she’ll survive it.

inbtwn

Crownchasers

Rebecca Coffindaffer

Published: 29th September 2020
Goodreads
Rep: pan mc, lesbian, gay and nonbinary side characters
CWs: alcohol use, blood, gore, death of a loved one, emotional withholding from a parental figure, murder, guilt and trauma, science fiction-related violence

Continue reading “ARC Review: Crownchasers”

Book Releases: 2020 Sapphic Releases (July to December)

It’s August which means it’s time for PART TWO of 2020’s sapphic releases (part one here). These are all the sapphic releases that I know about from July to December this year (so, usual disclaimer of it not being on here generally means I don’t know about it. Sometimes means I completely forgot even if I did know).

As ever, 🌈 means the author identifies as LGBT. Apologies if I have screwed up a date somewhere — they’ve changed so often I know I haven’t kept track of them all.

For clarification: I have included in this list books where the sapphic character is either the main character/protagonist, has a POV, or is a major character who affects the plot.

So let’s go!

Continue reading “Book Releases: 2020 Sapphic Releases (July to December)”

Book(s) of the Month: Legendborn, Master of Poisons, and Every Body Looking

This month’s feature is a little different, in that, both me and Anna looked at our releases list, and couldn’t decide which book to pick, since there were three books we thought, hey we’ve not seen that talked about very much. And we definitely hadn’t seen them being talked about as being gay.

Hence why this post contains not one but three books.

Related: Don’t forget all releases can be found in our monthly lists here.
Continue reading “Book(s) of the Month: Legendborn, Master of Poisons, and Every Body Looking”

Book Releases: August 2020

The summer is halfway through, but that doesn’t mean the good times are ending! The days might be shorter and shorter now (in this hemisphere), but that only means your evenings are longer and longer, so you will have more time to read! And oh boy, is there a lot to read in August… Almost 100 books.

Like always, a rainbow emoji is there to tell you a book is ownvoices, in terms of LGBT rep. And if you need some more books, you can find all our previous releases posts here.

Continue reading “Book Releases: August 2020”

Book Releases: July-December 2020 Books With Bi Protagonists

A second part to the post I made at the beginning of the year, where I listed books with bi/pan main characters which were published between January and June (it’s here!). Now it’s time for the second half of the year.

Once again, I want to make some things clear:

1) I included only books that use the bi & pan labels or, in case of sff ones, that make it clear from context the characters are bi or pan. It’s not always clear-cut but I figured that if you’re looking for bi/pan rep, you’re looking for something concrete;

2) I did not include books which I wasn’t sure about, because I didn’t want to falsely advertise. If there’s anything I missed that you know for a fact features a bi or pan protag, please let me know!

The rainbow emoji indicates that the book is written by an LGBT author, and just for fun, I also marked YA books with a ✌️ emoji. Please let me know if I missed or mislabeled something!

Continue reading “Book Releases: July-December 2020 Books With Bi Protagonists”