Book Recs: Sapphic Science Fiction (I)

After a last minute switcheroo, today’s rec list is a long-awaited continuation of all those other sapphic rec lists (all the previous posts are here) which you have probably forgotten about. On request, this iteration is the first of (hopefully) many sapphic science fiction rec posts!

Same disclaimer as in that adult sci fi rec list (in which I apparently recced most of these books anyway…huh) applies: I really like hard sci fi, but I know that that’s not the case for everyone, so there are soft sci fi recs in here too (although by some strange coincidence, most of these recs take place in space…proof space is gay I think).

And, because I like fun, 5 of the books on this list are upcoming! (Okay, 6, but does it really count when that 6th is out in 5 days?).

So have a gander!

Continue reading “Book Recs: Sapphic Science Fiction (I)”

Book Recs: LGBT YA books with supportive parents

If there is one thing I care about deeply when it comes to YA literature, it’s supportive parents. I firmly believe that at least in fiction, LGBT kids deserve only the best. And nothing can be more formative than your parents being perfectly fine with who you are (as they always should be!) & allowing you to grow up with love and confidence.

So this is why this rec list got made. Because as much as I personally adore supportive parents, it’s still not the opinion shared by majority and books featuring them are scarce. All the more reasons to appreciate them!

Continue reading “Book Recs: LGBT YA books with supportive parents”

Book Releases: Twitter’s Anticipated Releases, Or A Look at What 2021 Has in Store

A few months back, I asked people on twitter what five LGBT releases they were most anticipating in 2021. Yes, I know, five was very harsh of me, especially since I couldn’t even keep myself to that few anyway, but hey. You do what you gotta do.

Anyway, I figured I’d turn those tweets into a post, to give you a little bit of a taster of 2021’s releases. Also feast your eyes on the gorgeousness of these covers so far! I cannot wait to see what else is to come.

Finally, a little key (although bearing in mind that it’s a little hard to confirm rep so far out!):

💗 = wlw rep
💙 = mlm rep
💜 = trans or nonbinary rep

Continue reading “Book Releases: Twitter’s Anticipated Releases, Or A Look at What 2021 Has in Store”

ARC Review: Crownchasers

49245102

A deadly competition for the throne will determine more than just the fate of the empire in this riveting duology opener, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesAurora Rising, and Three Dark Crowns.

Alyssa Farshot has spent her whole life trying to outrun her family legacy. Her mother sacrificed everything to bring peace to the quadrant, and her uncle has successfully ruled as emperor for decades. But the last thing Alyssa wants is to follow in their footsteps as the next in line for the throne. Why would she choose to be trapped in a palace when she could be having wild adventures exploring a thousand-and-one planets in her own ship?

But when Alyssa’s uncle becomes gravely ill, his dying wish surprises the entire galaxy. Instead of naming her as his successor, he calls for a crownchase, the first in seven centuries. Representatives from each of the empire’s prime families—including Alyssa—are thrown into a race to find the royal seal, which has been hidden somewhere in the empire. The first to find the seal wins the throne.

Alyssa’s experience as an explorer makes her the favorite to win the crown she never wanted. And though she doesn’t want to be empress, her duty to her uncle compels her to participate in this one last epic adventure. But when the chase turns deadly, it’s clear that more than just the fate of the empire is at stake. Alyssa is on her most important quest yet—and only time will tell if she’ll survive it.

inbtwn

Crownchasers

Rebecca Coffindaffer

Published: 29th September 2020
Goodreads
Rep: pan mc, lesbian, gay and nonbinary side characters
CWs: alcohol use, blood, gore, death of a loved one, emotional withholding from a parental figure, murder, guilt and trauma, science fiction-related violence

Continue reading “ARC Review: Crownchasers”

ARC Review + Blog Tour: Iron Heart

If you know me (Anna), you know I absolutely adored Crier’s War. And if you don’t know, you can just read my review of it. So when Shealea @ Caffeine Book Tours announced she’s organising a book tour for the sequel, I immediately decided I need to be a part of that!

So here we are. Below you will find all the details about Iron Heart, five reasons why you should buy and read the book right this second (if you haven’t actually preordered it), and a very sapphic playlist. Enjoy! And please check out the full schedule for the blog tour so you can get more sapphic content in your life!

An unstoppable love between two girls—one human, one Made—both set on destroying the Iron Heart.

For too long the cruel, beautiful Automae have lorded over the kingdom of Rabu, oppressing the humans who live there. But the human revolution is on the rise, and at its heart is Ayla. Once handmaiden, now fugitive, Ayla escaped the palace of Lady Crier, the girl Ayla had planned to kill . . . but instead fell in love with. Now Ayla has pledged her allegiance to Queen Junn, whom she believes can accomplish the ultimate goal of the human rebellion: destroy the Iron Heart. Without it, the Automae will be weakened to the point of extinction.

But playing at Ayla’s memory are the powerful feelings she developed for Crier. And unbeknownst to her, Crier has also fled the palace, taking up among travelling rebels, determined to find and protect Ayla.

As their paths collide, neither are prepared for the dark secret underlying the Iron Heart.

In this stunning sequel to acclaimed author Nina Varela’s Crier’s War, the love that launched a revolution must now pave the way for a whole new era . . . and the ultimate change of heart.

inbtwn

Iron Heart

Nina Varela

Published: 8th September 2020
Goodreads | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound
Rep: lesbian poc mc, bi poc mc, poc cast, side m/nb couple, side mlm & wlw couples
TW: body horror (chapter 6 & 14), panic attack, torture, murder

Continue reading “ARC Review + Blog Tour: Iron Heart”

Book Recs: Urban Fantasy (II)

…or urbanish, since most of these turned out to be historical fantasies. But that still counts, in my opinion.

But anyway! Today’s rec list is a continuation of a previous one, because I’ve done high fantasy, I did adult fantasy, and Anna did (some) YA fantasy. So where else to turn to next, but (back) to urban fantasy. So. Without further ado, let’s start!

P.S. you can see what I recced in the first of these posts here.

Continue reading “Book Recs: Urban Fantasy (II)”

Book of the Month: The Magic Fish

After going slightly rogue last month and picking three books of the month, for September we’re back to usual, with just a single book. We had no trouble looking through our releases list and choosing this one because, in all honesty, it’s one we’re incredibly excited for.

But anyway, read on to find out more!

Related: Don’t forget all releases can be found in our monthly lists here.
Continue reading “Book of the Month: The Magic Fish”

Book Releases: September 2020

September is a monster month for releases (there are 100+ in this post alone, not to mention any that we might not know about just yet). And also one where, every time I felt I had the list down, I found yet another release. (Not that I’m really complaining, apart from having to edit and re-edit the damn thing so many times…)

So, get yourself a cuppa, and have a scroll!

As ever, you can find all our previous releases posts here and the rainbow emoji indicates an author who id’s as LGBT.

Continue reading “Book Releases: September 2020”

Book Recs: Arthuriana

A little while back, I touted the possibility on twitter of doing a rec list of Arthurian retellings, but gay (obviously). Now, I thought this would be a pretty niche rec list, but apparently not, which is why I’m here today with 10 gay retellings of Arthurian legend.

First things first, I haven’t read any of these myself, and a fair few are upcoming because, as it turns out, gay Arthurian retellings aren’t that big a market (shamefully, let’s be real). So I have dispensed “why should I read it” sections, since all I can really say is it’s gay, it’s Arthuriana, why aren’t you as excited as I am already.

One last thing before we start though. You will probably notice one book in particular missing and I just want to say, before people start mentioning it in the comments, I do know about it. I didn’t get along with it. That’s why it’s not on this list.

P.S. if you want more than this post, I made a list on Goodreads of everything I could find.

Continue reading “Book Recs: Arthuriana”

Book Recs: Adult Sci Fi

When I wrote up the schedule for this month’s posts, I was initially planning for this rec list to be a continuation of that sapphic series. But, at the eleventh hour, I changed my mind, and went with adult sci fi recs.

Sci fi is, in all honesty, one of my favourite genres. And particularly sci fi that leans towards being hard rather than soft (as such, if you don’t like hard sci fi, you may not find a whole lot on this list for you, for which I apologise). And when that sci fi is gay? It just makes it all the better.

So, here are ten of my absolute faves.

Continue reading “Book Recs: Adult Sci Fi”