If You Liked This Book, Try…

This month we decided to add a little series to the blog, one that centres on reccing a piece of media, given another, more popular piece of media. It’ll come in four parts: books, films and TV, and music, and then straight media specifically.

So today’s post is the first of those parts. We’ve picked 10 pretty popular books or series (which may themselves have some form of LGBT rep), and recced you three other books depending on what you might like about that series.

(As ever, 🌈 means the author identifies as LGBT.)

inbtwn

A Darker Shade of Magic

I’m looking for… portal fantasy In Other Lands by Sarah Rees Brennan
I’m looking for… parallel universe hopping Otherbound by Corrine Duyvis 🌈 or The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson 🌈

inbtwn

Six of Crows

I’m looking for… a gang of misfits These Rebel Waves by Sara Raasch or The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey 🌈
I’m looking for… a heist Beneath the Citadel by Destiny Soria

inbtwn

The Raven Cycle

I’m looking for… a loner finds an intense friendship The Scapegracers by Hannah Abigail Clarke 🌈
I’m looking for… that specific TRC vibe of witches and magic Wonders of the Invisible World by Christopher Barzak 🌈 or Holly and Oak by R. Cooper 🌈

inbtwn

All for the Game

I’m looking for… something a little darker Barracuda by Christos Tsiolkas 🌈
I’m looking for… found family in a sports team Running With Lions by Julian Winters 🌈 or The Avant-Guards by Carly Usdin & Noah Hayes 🌈

inbtwn

Shadowhunters

I’m looking for… a society dedicated to taking down demons The Relic Spell by Jimena I. Novaro 🌈 or Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger
I’m looking for… a parallel world with magic Last Bus to Everland by Sophie Cameron 🌈

inbtwn

Carry On

I’m looking for… a chosen one narrative A Hero at the End of the World by Erin Claiborne
I’m looking for… urban fantasy The Rules and Regulations for Mediating Myths & Magic by F. T. Lukens 🌈
I’m looking for… and they were roommates A Light Amongst Shadows by Kelley York & Rowan Altwood 🌈

inbtwn

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

I’m looking for… recent history Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian 🌈
I’m looking for… friends to lovers Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender 🌈
I’m looking for… characters figuring shit out In the Role of Brie Hutchens… by Nicole Melleby 🌈

inbtwn

Percy Jackson

I’m looking for… teens saving the world Superior by Jessica Lack
I’m looking for… myth retellings Alcestis by Katharine Beutner 🌈 or Heathen by Natasha Alterici 🌈

inbtwn

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

I’m looking for… the portrayal of messy relationships Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki & Rosemary Valero-O’Connell 🌈
I’m looking for… historical sapphics That Could Be Enough by Alyssa Cole 🌈 or The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey 🌈

inbtwn

Red, White and Royal Blue

I’m looking for… established relationship By Any Means Necessary by Candace Montgomery 🌈
I’m looking for… new adult romance Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers 🌈
I’m looking for… rivals to lovers Whatever by S. J. Goslee 🌈

inbtwn

Since you’re here, please consider doing any number of the following to support Black Lives Matter, and the protests regarding police brutality in the USA.

Donate to bail funds and supplies for protestors, gofundmes of victims of police violence, mutual aid organisations and Black-owned businesses impacted by the violence.

You can donate even if you have no funds by watching videos where all ad revenue will go towards the BLM movement.

Sign petitions.

Get in contact with mayors and district attorneys, and maintain pressure on them.

Educate yourself further through the resources found on the carrd and others.

Pride was initiated following riots against police violence and raids, and those at Stonewall Inn were led by trans and lesbian women of colour, many of whom were Black. We owe them our support.

15 Replies to “If You Liked This Book, Try…”

  1. This is a fun idea, and a very good one too! Sometimes when you finish a book and you love it, you just want to read something similar to the book. I’m looking forward to more from you guys and this series! πŸ’™

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yesssss, Beneath the Citadel!!! I’m seeing it on so many rec lists lately, and I am so hyped. It’s so good, and more people really need to read it! I’ve also got Felix Ever After to my immediate left right now, and I’m hopefully starting it later today, so I’m even more excited now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s